Bruschetta Rethought

It is Monday again and I hope everyone had a beautiful Mothersday/Sunday. We went to the zoo in Calgary for the first time with Birdie and good friends and their beautiful child Raven. Pictures will follow.

Now, let’s talk about this weeks challenge. The original version features tomatoes. I love them but I would not be able to convince my husband to eat it. That’s why I went off the track and created a spring version including peas, apple and goat cheese.

Jen’s No-Tomato Bruschetta

Bread sliced- I used my Chia seed and wheat germ bread

Margarine or butter or olive oil

Peas

Apple

Goat cheese

Cream cheese – optional

DSC_1053

Cook the peas in a broth with salt and pepper to give them some flavour. Put some oil or margarine on the sliced bread and put under the broiler until browned. Slice an apple in really thin slices.

Once the peas are cooked, mash them up and adjust seasoning. Now let’s assemble these babies. Smear some cream cheese on the bread-which I forgot…Same with last week’s recipe where I forgot the beans or the peanut butter bars where I forgot the butter. I am a scatterbrain in the kitchen. Ok, where were we? 🙂

DSC_1060

Put a slice of apple on the cream cheese and then add the mashed peas and the goat cheese on top. Put under the broiler until the cheese is gooey. That’s all you have to do. Simple, right?

A word of advice from the scatterbrain. If you forget the cream cheese your toppings will roll down easily. I will not go into too much detail but I was crawling around picking up peas. Birdie thought it’s hillarious and a new game. I did not want to burst the bubble!

Check out Laura’s website for the original recipe!

DSC_1080

Es ist mal wieder Montag und damit Zeit fuer unser Food Matters Project und dieses mal geht es um Bruschetta. Da mein Mann aber rohe Tomaten hasst wie die Pest, musste ich in die Trickkiste greifen.

Jen’s Bloss-keine-Tomaten-Bruschetta

Brot- ich hab mein selbstgebackenes Chiabrot genommen

Margarine, Butter oder Olivenoel

Erbsen

Apfel

Ziegenkaese

Philadelphia-optional

DSC_1077

Brot mit Margarine bestreichen und anroesten. Erbsen mit etwas Bruehe und Salz und Pfeffer kochen. Apfel in ganz duenne Scheiben schneiden. Sobald die Erbsen etwas abgekuehlt sind mit einer Gabel zerdruecken.

Nun geht es um den Zusammenbau 🙂

Brot mit etwas Phildelphia bestreichen und dann die Apfelscheibe drauflegen. Nun noch die Erbsen und den Ziegenkaese draufladen. Das Brot noch einmal fuer eine Minute unter den Broiler schieben bis der Kaese wunderbar weich ist.

Ehemanntauglich?

Der bekommt davon nichts ab, alles meins haha.

HighFoodality Blog-Event Cookbook of Colors

DSC_1079

14 Antworten to “Bruschetta Rethought”


  1. 1 Margarita Mai 14, 2012 um 4:03 pm

    Apple, mashed peas, and goat cheese… I’m sold! Very happy to meet another sweet fruit and goat cheese lover like myself. 🙂

  2. 3 Lexi Mai 14, 2012 um 5:16 pm

    What an interesting combination, looks good.

  3. 5 Tobias Mai 15, 2012 um 1:45 am

    gleich mal der meike weiterleiten 😀

    • 6 prairiesummers Mai 15, 2012 um 5:30 am

      grins, na in eurer tollen neuen kueche sollte das kein problem darstellen. gruess mal schoen und geht euer tel nun? versuche mich mal am woende zu melden.

      • 7 Tobias Mai 15, 2012 um 6:09 am

        seit 30 min sind wir stolze telefonanschluss inhaber 🙂
        ist ja wie früher in der ddr, da musste man auch (gefühlte) 10 jahre warten 😀

  4. 8 fifthfloorkitchen Mai 15, 2012 um 7:09 am

    Do you know what would be great- some smoked gouda or blue cheese with that! Oh, the ideas!

  5. 11 Mireya Merritt Mai 15, 2012 um 3:27 pm

    What a great idea to have apples with goat cheese. It“s hard for me to imagine the peas there, but I love the apples and cheese. I would even add some cinnamon.
    By the way I’ve just seen your baby’s pictures today. She’s a real cuttie!

  6. 12 auracaplett Mai 16, 2012 um 8:37 am

    So many of my favorite things: peas, goat cheese, bread, apples…what a great combination. Great photos too!

  7. 13 sandrajsm Mai 16, 2012 um 9:11 am

    diese aussehen zehr lecker – how fun to pracitce my German. Ich hoffe ich nicht ein fehler macht.


  1. 1 Cookbook of Colors: 46 grüne Rezepte [Zusammenfassung Juni] | HighFoodality - Rezepte mit Bild Trackback zu Juli 16, 2012 um 1:54 am

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar




EMQG

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 anderen Abonnenten an

Archiv