Sesame Street Quilt

My colleague at work convinced me to start a project I would not have done otherwise. I have very little applique experience but she said she would do that part if I take on the quilting part.

Our Quebec colleague was close to her Maternity Leave and we decided to make her a Sesame Street Quilt. My favourite is Cookie Monster- what a surprise🙂

IMG_0205We had a lot of fun pulling all our fabrics out and brood over colour combinations in our lunch hours.  Look at this cookie fabric- my colleague is one clever cookie lol.

We chose our 6 favourite characters and went to work. Once we had the blocks done we decided to give them a black sashing. This way they looked like „pictures“ within the quilt. Since it is a baby quilt we did not want to leave it at that and added a cheerful yellow- Big Bird style, don’t you think?

IMG_0222

I went out of my comfort zone and quilted it on my home machine with stars and swirls in yellow. IMG_0223

It is already nice and crinkly because we washed it before we sent it off.

For the backing we used this cute Scotch Dog Fabric. My colleague and I then decided to cut out the same shape again and have everybody in our office sign the quilt.

IMG_0226

Our colleague burst out in tears when she opened the parcel🙂

We could not have asked for a more rewarding response!

0 Responses to “Sesame Street Quilt”



  1. Schreibe einen Kommentar

Schreibe einen Kommentar

EMQG

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an

Archive


