Ronny Comic’s Quilt

It took me almost a year to finish this quilt. Not because it is so very difficult but more because I started it and then did’t quite like it. I had to open seams and was too lazy to actually do it so I put it away for a while. Then I wanted to do a course at the Sparrow Studioz in Edmonton and I needed to finish a quilt. Perfect timing! I had to finish it for the longarm quilting course.

The night before the course….

DSC_0085

I had a blast and love the fact that I don’t have to baste my quilt-whoo hoo! Our instructors were super helpful and very nice. Now I know that I don’t have to be intimidated by the big machines. They picked a really easy design the loops and it fit my theme perfectly. I also love the red thread that we picked- I call it the Superman Red! Here is a picture so that you can see the thread.

DSC_0087

I have Superman, Batman, Star Treck and The Marvel Avengers in the mix and it worked out pretty well.

DSC_0088

I actually wanted the backing to be just one fabric. I had picked the dark blue fabric wiht the comic „bubbles“ but what I had not taken into account was that I added the triangle border to the quilt. I ran out of fabric!!! It was Friday 11:30am and I had to pick up Birdie at 2:30pm. I did’t have much time to drive to the store and get more fabric. To make matters worse was that the fabric was no longer in stock. I couldn’t find a fabric that really matched either. I hung my head and was close to do something completely different. I picked a blue plaid fabric and drove home. Almost there I decided to check in on the other store in Millwoods that was about to close down their business and was super lucky. I found the fabric for the sides (barb wire, funny „manly slogans“ etc.) that was part of the same fabric line. YAY. Day saved I raced home to finish the back.

DSC_0090

The quilting gives the Dude a really muscular look, don’t you think? My hubby likes his new Quilt and Birdie wanted to know who the grumpy blue guy was, haha.

DSC_0091

1 Response to “Ronny Comic’s Quilt”


  1. 1 Tobias März 25, 2015 um 8:58 am

    schaut super aus!


Schreibe einen Kommentar

EMQG

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an

Archive


