Quilt fuer Mara- A Quilt for Mara

DSC_0001

Das Internet ist Himmel und Hoelle zugleich. Wenn ich etwas Bestimmntes suche und es mit Naehen oder Quilten zu tun hat, dann gibt es tausend und eine Quellen. Was als 10minuetiges „Suchen“ begonnen hatte, endete in einem 2 Stunden Marathon. Soviele Muster zu bestaunen, soviele Blogs zu lesen und YouTube Videos anzuschauen. Mehr durch Zufall stolperte ich ueber einen Beitragnamens „Jellyroll Race“. Missouri Star Quilt Company’s Frontman oder besser Frontfrau Jenny hat mich so zum Lachen gebracht, dass ich mir ihr Tutorial mehrfach angesehen habe. Auf ihrer Webseite haben sie Unmengen an Tutorials. Ich liebe ihre unkomplizierte und charmante Art und die Tutorials sind darauf ausgelegt, dass Leben eines Quilters so einfach wie moeglich zu machen.
Hier ist der Link

Kurz vor Weihnachten hatte ich mich entschieden einen Stripquilt fuer meine Nichte Mara (Hallo, Mara!) zu naehen und habe mich fuer Neonfarben entschieden. Sie war zu dem Zeitpunkt 9 Jahre alt und nicht fuer rosa und Eihnhoehrner zu haben. Ich glaube Monster High war mehr auf dem Plan. Ein bisschen Pink durfte es aber schon sein. 2 Jellyrolls wanderten in den Einkaufswagen und abends, sobald Birdie im Bett war, ratterte meine Naehmaschine. Nach 10min kam Hubby runter und wollte wissen, was das fuer ein Krach waere. Upps. Ich wurde am naechsten Tag ins Basement verbannt. Selbiger war nicht ausgebaut und es war Dezember- schweinekalt. Ich sass also mit 2 Pullovern, Strickjacke und Handschuhen an der Maschine. Ich wollte es unbedingt fuer Weihnachten fertigbekommen.

Die Decke and sich war superschnell fertig. Zu dem Zeitpunkt hatte ich keine Ahnung, dass man Quilten (das eigentliche zusammennaehen von Decke, Wollfleece und Rueckseite) kann wie man will. Das war erst mein zweiter Quilt! Stitch in the Ditch war das einzige was ich kannte. Arrrggh! Ich habe ungefaehr viermal solange gebraucht bis ich alle Reihen genaeht hatte. Geradeausnaehen war die groesste Herausforderung. Es hat auch nicht immer geklappt. Ich hoffe Mara verzeiht mir, dass der Quilt nicht perfekt ist. Es steckt viel Muehe und Liebe hinter und das sollte ausschlaggebend sein, oder? Meine Schwester meinte er waere gut angekommen und wurde gleich auf dem Bett ausgebreitet. Mission accomplished.

DSC_0002

I found this wonderful and amusing Tutorial of the Missouri Star Quilt Company online and was hooked. This looked like a beginner could do that. Jenny from the MSQC makes quilting look so effortless and easy. I was intrigued. It was close to Christmas and I wanted to make a quilt for my niece Mara. Watch this tutorial. I am subscribed to her tutorials because they are wonderful, entertaining with just the right amount of humor and NEVER boring: Tutorial

Well, they are also clever and enthusiastic about their shop. I have ordered from them several times and my only regret is that they are not in Canada and therfore my mail got caught at the border twice. I wish I could pay the extra tax and be done with it. No, they add 20$ handling fees!! This makes no sense to me. I am not trying to avoid paying our GST but I have no control over how it is sent or handled at the border. I hate it.

Lately I try to turn to some online Canadian fabric stores but they are (unfortunately) not a match to the US ones yet…. Ok, sorry that was my rant of the day.

DSC_0003

The top came together really quickly. Hubby came downstairs to see what the commotion was about. I guess when you speed-sew the noise level raises …a lot…. I was banned to the basement so that I won’t wake up Birdie. Point taken- I moved into the unfinished basement in December *insert shocked face*. I sat there with two sweaters on, a cardigan, thick socks and gloves. I am not even kidding. I wanted this quilt done for Christmas and I was not about to get stopped by a little bit of cold air…

The issue was not the quilt top but the actual quilting. Sewing the three layers of quilttop, batting and backing together took me four times as long as the top. At this point I only knew „quilt in the ditch“ so I diligently quilted every single strip. Mindnumbing LOL. I am also still working on sewing straight. Considering it was my second quilt I am ok with the fact that is not perfect. Mara may forgive me but a lot of effort and love went into it and that is the main reason I make quilts. I hope somebody treasures it because someone took the time to make it and it is not from Walmart or Ikea. It is unique in all its imperfections.

My sister said that Mara loves it and put it on her bed right away. Mission accomplished.

For the backing I chose a black fabric that had tons of colourful flowers on it. After all it was a quilt for a girl, rigth? Why didn’t I take a proper picture of the back? Beats me, I have a lot to learn.

DSC_0004

0 Responses to “Quilt fuer Mara- A Quilt for Mara”



  1. Schreibe einen Kommentar

Schreibe einen Kommentar

EMQG

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an

Archive


