Corn Avocado Salad with a boiled egg


This week Jenn from Vanillalemon chose the recipe and I have to say I love it. I made corn and black bean salads before and am also slightly addicted to avocados. This combination is a dream come true and so versatile. You can eat it on its own- at least I can- or with some BBQ’ed chicken or fish or you eat it as a side salad with a rice or pasta dish. We have done it all.

I pretty much stuck to the recipe and then just added iceberg lettuce, grapes and peas. So hop over to her website to check it out. What I also love about this salad is that you can add whatever you want to it.

Since we were on our way to Germany when I cooked this dish I did not want to go out and buy something. Instead I used what I had left in the fridge- eggs. Every once in a while I do love a boiled egg with my salad. If you ask my husband then everything is good with a boiled egg. His love for eggs is legendary.


It did not last long and I will for sure make it again. And again. And again haha. Ok, now I am officially on vacation and stuff my face with all the German goodies we do not get in Calgary. Sigh, I will return 10lbs heavier…I just know it.

Have a great summer!


7 Responses to “Corn Avocado Salad with a boiled egg”

  1. 1 Baltic Maid Juli 16, 2012 um 2:05 am

    Ohh, das sieht aber lecker aus. Mein erster Gedanke war, dass sich Dein Mann bestimmt ueber das Ei gefreut hat…😀
    Ich hoffe, Ihr habt viel Spass in Deutschland!!!

  2. 2 vanillalemon Juli 16, 2012 um 2:25 pm

    Great idea to add the egg, another vegetarian option! Glad you liked the recipe!

  3. 3 fifthfloorkitchen Juli 17, 2012 um 2:23 pm

    An egg on top definitely sounds delicious! Enjoy your time in Germany- where are you going to?

  4. 6 FledglingFoodie Juli 18, 2012 um 6:10 pm

    Looks delicious! Agree about the avocado addiction. Have a great vacation!

  5. 7 Margarita Juli 18, 2012 um 8:01 pm

    i agree with your husband, boiled eggs are great!🙂

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Trage deine Daten unten ein oder klicke ein Icon um dich einzuloggen:

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Abmelden / Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Twitter-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Facebook-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Google+ Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Google+-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Verbinde mit %s


My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an


