Scones with Oats and Coconut

 

DSC_1245

Life is so busy right now. Dealing with family issues, packing up a house, entertaining a baby and getting too little sleep. Sorry that I was not blogging as regularly as I used to.

I was just so tired

*Dozing off* Uh…what? Where am I?

I have this dream that keeps coming back. I am out with Birdie at the library or in a supermarket and people are starring at me. When I look down at me I see that I forgot to put pants on!!

One of these days this dream may come true if Birdie does not stop this newborn sleep cycle of 1-2 hours of sleep before she demands food. She should be able to sleep through the night without extra feeding sessions.

Guess she has not read the memo.

DSC_1254

I discovered this recipe in one of my cookbooks and fell in love. Head over heels.
Oats.
Scones.
What a great combination! This is not your store bought perfect looking, super flaky scone. It is big, kinds ugly (at least when I make it) and wonderfully oaty.

Is that even a real word? If not then it should become one. *Stomach grumbling*. Oh dear I am rambling again.

Told you…now you know how my mind works on lack of sleep…🙂

Scones with Oats and Coconut
Adapted from „Eat Well- Sonoma Williams“

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup chickpea flour
1 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup sugar
1 Tbsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
6 tbsp cold margarine
1/2 cup cold buttermilk
1/4 cup plain yoghurt
1 egg
1/2 cup shredded coconut
2 big tbsp peanut butter

Mix your dry ingredients. Using a pastry mixer or 2 knives cut in your cold butter. Then add the wet ingredients and try not to over-mix it. With floured hands form your scones and place on a baking tray.

Bake at 180C for approx. 20-25min until slightly browned.

I had a scone every single morning for breakfast with some yoghurt. I already made several other versions and will let you know of the outcome.

I find that they freeze really well and all I do is pop them in the microwave for 10 seconds and they are nice and warm. I just love the smell of oats in baked goods.

I am fighting with myself if I should have one now….kind of like a midnight snack haha.

Enjoy!

DSC_1244

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Scones with Oats and Coconut”


  1. 1 jules August 29, 2012 um 11:32 am

    oh…i might have to make these. A treat for breakfast that looks like a BIG cookie?…yummmm


  1. 1 Whole Wheat Scones with Gojiberries « Prairiesummers Trackback zu Juli 18, 2012 um 9:18 am

Schreibe einen Kommentar

EMQG

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an

Archive


