Sweet Potato Dessert

Sweet potato was always something savory to me. It was a side dish or a cut up and turned into fries but never something sweet. Naturally, I needed to try this recipe.

Sweet Potato Dessert

Adated from Family Fresh Cooking

• 1 cup cooked and mashed Sweet Potatoes

• 1 cup Flour

• 1 cup Rice Flour

• 2 1/2 teaspoons Baking Powder

• 1/4 teaspoon Salt

• 1/2 teaspoon ground Saigon Cinnamon

• 1 Egg, whisked

• 1 1/4 cups Coconut Milk

• 1 tablespoon home made vanilla sugar

Preheat oven to 180C. Oil your ramekins – I did not the first time around and it is a pain to clean up. Learn from my mistakes!

The rest is easy: combine all dry ingredients and all wet ingredients. Then bring them both together and fill your ramekins. Bake them for approx. 25min. Let them cool down. Hot chocolate burns your tongue…just saying…

I am not quite sure I am sold on this dish. It is not bad but I was not completely blown away either. Since Birdie is eating solids but cannot eat more than a couple of teaspoons per feeding there will be a lot of leftover sweet potato. Maybe I give it another try.

What do you think? Have you tried sweet potato as a dessert? Do you have a fool proof recipe to share? I am all ears….

DSC_1021

2 Responses to “Sweet Potato Dessert”


  1. 1 Marla Meridith Juni 18, 2012 um 8:33 am

    Awesome!!! Soooo happy you got to bake up these cakes. I need more now😉

  2. 2 Baltic Maid Juni 21, 2012 um 11:01 am

    I like sweet potatoes in savory or sweet recipes, but somehow they’re so foreign to me. I end up having them around for an eternity because I just don’t quite know what to do with them…😛 Thanks for this recipe. Next time I have the urge to buy them, I have a recipe to try now…🙂


Schreibe einen Kommentar

EMQG

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an

Archive


