Food Matters Project Monday

DSC_1361

This weeks‘ assignment is a tough one: Savoury Tomato Crisp. Uugh. With a tomato-hating husband that calls for adjustments- big time.

In addition, tomatoes are not yet in season here in Calgary and I despise the idea of using canned tomatoes. They are awesome in a sauce, bolognese, lasagna etc. but as a star in this dish? No way!

Nicole from The giving Table is this weeks‘ host. Hop over to her site for the original recipe. I need to find other ingredients.

DSC_1335

Zucchini Apple Crumble

1/2 Zucchini

1/2 crisp apple

1 tbsp margarine

2 tbsp oats

1 tbsp dark brown sugar

1 tbsp slivered almonds

1/2 tsp Saigon cinnamon

DSC_1364

Cut the zucchini and the apple in thin slices and place in a baking tray. I used two really small ones and a medium sized one. Just adjust the amount of apple and zucchini to the tray of your size.

Mix margarine, sugar, nuts and cinnamon and sprinkle it on top. Bake in a 200C oven until golden brown on top. Mine took approx. 15min. Enjoy!

DSC_1336

5 Responses to “Food Matters Project Monday”


  1. 1 C Juni 4, 2012 um 3:19 pm

    I am impressed how you came up with this. It is a wonderful combination, one, I plan to make, hopefully very soon. It sounds delicious with the sweetness.

  2. 2 Margarita Juni 4, 2012 um 9:24 pm

    Zucchini and apple… That is a very creative combo… Would totally have enjoyed this sweet crisp too!

  3. 3 Katerina Juni 6, 2012 um 2:07 am

    What an unusual combination! I am really curious now!

  4. 4 Mireya Merritt Juni 6, 2012 um 9:10 pm

    I love apple crisp but I’ve never had it with zucchini. Sounds interesting.
    BTW I wanted to send you a message regarding the Power Foods blog group but I don’t have your email. You can contact me at Mireya (at) gmail.com (I was missing a letter in the word healthy and that’s why your email was returned.

    • 5 prairiesummers Juni 6, 2012 um 9:18 pm

      Ok this email came back too😦 I would love to participate but we are packing boxes, go on vacation for 5 weeks and then move into a new house. I may not be able to join you until the fall. I will check and see if the book is not packed up yet and will play it by ears …


Schreibe einen Kommentar

EMQG

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an

Archive


