Chia Seed Bread

DSC_0973

Remember the French bread I made the other day? It was pretty awesome and gone in a blink of an eye. Knowing that white bread is not really good for you I adjusted the recipe. At least it has some good ingredients to counterbalance the white flour. It is a work in progress so stay with me. Even better if you want to share a healthy bread recipe with me that does not require 24 hours of attention. It is highly likely that I would forget the bread and find it days later….fuzzy…and calling me mommy….

Enough said. Here is the somewhat-healthier version

18g active yeast

2,5 cups lukewarm water

1 tbsp salt

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 cup wheat germ

1/2 cup chia seeds

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

5,5 cups all purpose flour

2 tbsp buttermilk

DSC_0977

Pour water into your warm bowl and add yeast. Let it sit and do its magic for 5 minutes. Then slowly add the remaining ingredients. This is such a no fuss recipe that you just have to love it. Transfer the dough to a greased bowl and let it sit for 1 hour or until doubled in size.

Then punch it, hit it, swear at it or lovingly play with it. It is up to you…

Form to loafs and place them on baking sheets. They will rest another hour or again doubled in size. Yeast is a crazy thing, ey?

Brush the bread with the buttermilk and then bake at 220C for approx. 20-25min. Let it cool down.

It is a bit denser than the french bread I made but I loved the Chia seeds in it. Next stop Poppy seed bread!!

DSC_0974

Needless to say that it did not last long. It was great with just a little bit of butter or margarine. Hm, I am hungry now!

Bei Bedarf kann ich das Rezept gerne auf Deutsch uebersetzen, aber just in diesem Moment bin ich zu faul. Verzeiht mir. Ich gelobe Besserung!

DSC_0976

2 Responses to “Chia Seed Bread”


  1. 1 Joanne Juni 3, 2012 um 5:24 am

    I have chia seeds in my cabinet that are in desperate need of being used….I totally need to make this!


Schreibe einen Kommentar

EMQG

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an

Archive


