Food Matters Project Monday- Grilled Pineapple Salsa

DSC_0953

Yay, it is Monday. Since I am participating in this project I love Mondays. I cannot wait to see what all the others came up with. The topic is Quick Salsas and Alissa chose this weeks recipe. Hop over to her site to check out the original.

When I first read the recipes I drew a blank. Hmm, salsa, ok. Not because I do not like salsa. My husband loathes raw tomatoes and salsa is not on his list of favorite food. I was not ready to cook for me, for Birdie and my husband and slave away in the kitchen. Don’t get me wrong. In a perfect world I would be in the kitchen happily testing out recipes all day.

In the real world, Birdie refuses to go to bed, cries for no reason (well it was a stubborn burp in the end) and I had to wait until 9pm to start chopping away. What to do to convince my husband to eat this salsa?

The only trick that usually works is to hide the tomatoes behind a bunch of other ingredients. It is a shame but it is also not really tomato season in Calgary. Therefore, I was happily running around my kitchen searching for inspiration.

Jen’s Salsa

4 small tomatoes

1/2 a small sweet onion

handful grilled pineapple chunks

handful Taber corn

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp ground cardamom

1/2 tsp ground coriander

Zest and juice of one lime

1 tsp agave nectar

Salt and Pepper

The salsa is marinating overnight as we speak…aeh..type. I hope I get a chance to take a decent picture tomorrow🙂

Oh well, this picture will have to do lol

DSC_0952

I love the smell of the lime zest and it is one of my favorite smells in the kitchen. Next to real vanilla and cinnamon. The lime also takes the zing out of the raw onion which is a nice side effect. I intend to eat the salsa with a bit of my salad and I know we have some tortilla chips somewhere.

Somebody bored enough to come over and organize my pantry? It is a disgrace, really. I hang my head in shame. Maybe it will be better in the new house.

Who am I kidding?

Ok, folks, going to bed and crossing fingers to get a decent picture and this post out before the day is over (Monday that is).

DSC_0951

11 Responses to “Food Matters Project Monday- Grilled Pineapple Salsa”


  1. 1 fifthfloorkitchen Mai 7, 2012 um 4:12 pm

    Grilled pineapple sounds delicious. You could always substitute some watermelon for the tomatoes- delicious!

  2. 5 Margarita Mai 7, 2012 um 8:40 pm

    Love the cumin and grilled pineapple here!

  3. 7 EverydayMaven Mai 7, 2012 um 10:05 pm

    That is really inventive and sounds so interesting!

  4. 8 Lena Mai 8, 2012 um 12:03 am

    I was the same, mind all over the places, and my food, too. Love the Indian spices in this salsa.

  5. 10 Baltic Maid Mai 9, 2012 um 11:14 am

    I LOVE grilled pineapple and the spices you chose… love love love…


Schreibe einen Kommentar

EMQG

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an

Archive


