Roasted Green Asparagus Soup

Green Asparagus Soup

It is Monday and Monday is The Food Matters Project. This time the chosen recipe includes Asparagus. I never thought I would make an asparagus soup. Why? In Germany green asparagus is not very common. We usually celebrate the white one. I ate it but was never a huge fan.

Green Asparagus Soup

My grandma used to love the white asparagus soup even if it came in a powdered version from Knorr. Shudder. I never liked it.

In Canada I rarely see the white version. Instead the green one is available almost all the time and comparably cheap. I usually roast or fry them and eat them with a bit of olive oil, salt and pepper. I have to admit that I have not been very adventurous with the great vegetable so far.

Green Asparagus Soup

Until now that is. What I did was use the basic recipe from the book and added lemon and a bit of buttermilk and yoghurt. Oh my, is that a tasty soup! I could not stop eating it. Adrienne chose this weeks assignment and chose is wisely. I still have a bunch of asparagus in the fridge and am tempted to just cook it again.

Green Asparagus Soup

When I was done cooking my soup though I realized something….it is really embarrassing….but I forgot the white beans. Arghgh, how I managed to forget a main ingredient? I swear, I have no idea. It is a sign that I have asparagus left. So now I can truly recreate it. What a pea brain I am.


Green Asparagus Soup


8 Responses to “Roasted Green Asparagus Soup”

  1. 1 Margarita April 30, 2012 um 2:42 pm

    Glad you gave asparagus a try in this soup. I have rarely seen white asparagus here in Washington but I’m really looking forward to giving it a try as soon as I find one that is locally produced.

  2. 2 C April 30, 2012 um 5:43 pm

    What a thick soup. If the weather is cool, that must be wonderful. Even if it is warm, it looks delicious. Try it with the white beans. It is good.

  3. 3 vanillalemon April 30, 2012 um 9:35 pm

    Sounds great and love your pictures! Thought of you as I was briefly in Calgary last weekend!🙂

  4. 5 fifthfloorkitchen Mai 1, 2012 um 2:17 pm

    Haha, that’s funny! But that’s great to know that it still tasted great without the beans. These are the great adventures in cooking, right?

  5. 6 Baltic Maid Mai 1, 2012 um 4:09 pm

    hahaha… you have a baby, that’s an excuse for everything. I bet she was distracting you…😛 It looks delicious though.
    We even grew white asparagus in our garden in Germany… But they certainly don’t sell it here in this part of California either.

  6. 7 Mireya @myhealthyeatinghabits Mai 1, 2012 um 6:03 pm

    Your picture is perfect for springtime. Don’t feel bad about forgeting the beans. I once made a pumpkin pie without the sugar.

  7. 8 Julia {The Roasted Root} Mai 2, 2012 um 11:06 am

    Looks delicious! Beautiful and colorful photographs of a nutritious and light soup!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Trage deine Daten unten ein oder klicke ein Icon um dich einzuloggen:

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Abmelden / Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Twitter-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Facebook-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Google+ Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Google+-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Verbinde mit %s


My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an


