3 Koerner Vollkornbrot- Whole wheat bread with 3 seeds

The Vegan Bake Sale we went to on Saturday and baked and packaged everything for was so nice. We bought some of the cupcakes and cookies they offered and they were awesome. Hubby said he didn’t even tasted the difference to „regular“ cookies. There you go then. Here are our goodies.

DSC_0769

DSC_0789

DSC_0790

Now on to the Food Matters Project:

DSC_0776

Real Whole Wheat Bread is this weeks assignment chosen by Melissa and by pure coincidence I had started my bread baking journey. I made a french bread which I will show later and this oat, sunflower and pumpkin seed bread.

It is super easy to make and if you don’t mind the waiting periods it pretty much makes itself hehe. Please hop over to Melissa’s website for the original recipe.

DSC_0775

Whole Wheat Bread with three grains

2-2,5 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup bread flour
18g Instant yeast
2 cups lukewarm water
2 tbsp oil
1/3 cup agave syrup or honey
1 tbsp salt
1 cup oats
1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
2 tbsp Chia seeds

Mix water, agave syrup, salt and oil in a bowl, stir in the yeast and let sit for a couple of minutes. Slowly add flours and mix until dough comes together. I let my Kitchen Aid do all the work. Add your seeds and then let them rise until doubled in size. Punch down dough, divide in two and put in prepared bread pans. Let them rise again until doubled in size. I let them rise 1 hour each time.

Bake in preheated oven at 190C for 35-45min. Let the bread cool down before you try to take out of the pan to slice. Enjoy!

DSC_0771

10 Responses to “3 Koerner Vollkornbrot- Whole wheat bread with 3 seeds”


  1. 1 Erin @ Texanerin Baking April 23, 2012 um 1:04 pm

    The bread looks great! I have a question. How do you survive in the US without German Vollkornbrot? Seriously, what do you eat?😀

    • 2 prairiesummers April 23, 2012 um 7:14 pm

      I am in Canada and I found a bakery that is quite good. Wait until I go on vacation in Germany this summer. You will see A LOT of posts about bread haha

      • 3 Erin @ Texanerin Baking April 25, 2012 um 4:53 am

        Oh nein! I’m so ashamed. You had even talked about Calgary before and then I go and say that. I feel like an idiot. Sorry.

        I’m happy that you found a good bakery. I think my husband will just perish when we finally move to the US / Canada. I’ve tried making Vollkornbrot myself a several times but his complaint is always, „It’s the not same from the bakery! Waaaah!“

      • 4 prairiesummers April 25, 2012 um 10:08 am

        Lol don’t worry. My bread is nowhere near the bread you would get in a German bakery😦 It is decent, that’s all.I made a French Bread that was way better.

  2. 5 Margarita April 23, 2012 um 2:50 pm

    Love the addition of oats and agave syrup! Yum!

  3. 6 torviewtoronto and createwithmom April 23, 2012 um 4:04 pm

    delicious looking bread wonderfully done

  4. 7 fifthfloorkitchen April 23, 2012 um 6:13 pm

    Love the additions you had made in your bread. Love the seeds! I’ll definitely have to try that next time I remake this bread.

  5. 8 Baltic Maid April 23, 2012 um 11:15 pm

    Your bread looks amazing!!! I just made something similar the other day, too… I miss German bread… and also congrats on the bake sale.
    @ Erin & Jen: I am so jealous of your bakeries…

  6. 10 Kate April 26, 2012 um 9:42 pm

    Your bread turned out great! Good job!


Schreibe einen Kommentar

EMQG

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an

Archive


