Chocolate Banana Bread and Vanilla Beans Giveaway=Closed

Let’s start with the Giveaway, shall we?

The Vanilla Food Company provided me with enough vanilla beans that I can host the second Vanilla Beans Giveaway! All you have to do is go to the Facebook site and Like them and tell me that you did it to win 10 Madagascar Vanilla Beans. If you do not have a Facebook account you can simply leave me a comment what you are going to do with the vanilla beans should you be the lucky one. I cannot wait to see the comments. The giveaway will run until April 30, Noon, Calgary time. Good luck!

If you order with the Vanilla Food Company until and the order is more than 125$ and you live in Canada, they will waive your shipping costs. The following code is valid until May 6, 2012: PS201204.

This is independent from my giveaway which is open to everybody.

Now to my actual baking project.
Banana bread is more my husband’s passion. He does not like cooking and does not enjoy it but banana bread is one thing he does. I got this Icing fruit Banana from the Vanilla Food Company and was wondering what to do with it. You know that I am not into baking three layered cakes with tons of icing. I want to at some point but with a demanding baby at home it is just not going to happen anytime soon. Then I saw this recipe on Baker Betties Blog and knew I had to try it. I just love the combination of sweet and spicy!

This is another recipe I adapted and made vegan friendly for the Bake Sale. I got a list of things to watch out for. I had no idea that Vitamin D3 may contain animal products..uhm…lesson learnt. To be on the safe side I also purchased some vegan chocolate chips which earned me a weird look from my husband. Well, you got to stick to the rules here!

DSC_0565

Dark Chocolate Banana Bread with Cayenne

Adapted from

Baker Bettie

1 3/4 cups all purpose flour

1/4 cup dark chocolate cocoa powder

1/2 cup sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp Saigon cinnamon

1 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 cup butter or margarine (Earth Balance for vegan version) at room temperature

2 eggs or flax eggs for a vegan version

2 ripe bananas mashed and 1 tbsp icing fruit banana

2 cups hazelnut chocolate cut up or vegan chocolate

DSC_0559

Preheat oven to 180C degrees. In a large bowl whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and cayenne. In a medium bowl combine the margarine, flax-eggs, and two smashed bananas plus the banana paste. Using a spatula, fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until everything is wet. Add the 1 cup of chocolate chips and mix into the batter. Pour into the prepared mini-loaf pan and bake for 20-30minutes until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. Enjoy!

DSC_0553

It is 11:15 now and my husband and I just finished the packaging of the goodies. He was so kind to print some labels to go with the cookies and the banana bread and help me pack them.

DSC_0566

I was so well prepared and had the cookies almost ready when hubby came home from work. I let them cool, prepared the chocolate for the cookies and drizzled it over them. Then hell broke lose. Birdie was almost asleep when she suddenly was mega cranky and whining. It ended in tears and her calling for her mommy (she makes several noises but when the pain got so bad she called „Ma“ and made M-sounds). It broke my heart. She finally settled 2,5 hours past her regular bedtime. No wonder it took us so long to get the goodies ready for the Bake Sale.

DSC_0557

6 Responses to “Chocolate Banana Bread and Vanilla Beans Giveaway=Closed”


  1. 1 Cathy April 20, 2012 um 11:24 pm

    Yummy! Will definitely try the vegan version soon! (Must go and buy some bananas…)🙂

  2. 2 Joanne April 21, 2012 um 4:01 am

    I love the cayenne in this quickbread! Such a fun twist!

    I liked the vanilla compay on facebook!

  3. 3 katjaskitchenclub April 22, 2012 um 10:21 am

    I liked the vanilla food company and I want to win in good old Germany…:-))) Amy should draw the winner (please talk to her, that she will get a present, when I see her in the summer in Germany ;)))))


  1. 1 Erdbeer-Bananen-Brot « Nachgekocht Trackback zu April 22, 2012 um 8:38 am
  2. 2 Pink- Cookbook of Colours « Prairiesummers Trackback zu April 25, 2012 um 11:05 am
  3. 3 Melon Salad with Mint – Melonensalat mit Minze « Prairiesummers Trackback zu April 28, 2012 um 9:29 am

Schreibe einen Kommentar

EMQG

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an

Archive


