The Food Matters Project- Vegetables au Vin with Coq

Food Matters Project

Hop over to Fifth Floor Kitchen’s Blog to see this week’s challenge. Being who I am, I had to make changes. Ok, ok. I also forgot to get one or two ingredients so I improvised. I served risotto with the dish because I felt like it. Ronny won the wine draw and we suddenly ended up with 10 wine bottles- and we drink maybe a glass of wine a year. Ya, we are a sorry bunch lol.

Food Matters Project 031

In addition I added my leftover bok choi and a orange pepper to the dish. Since I opened a bottle of white wine for the risotto I added it to my version instead of the red wine. We bought chicken the other day and I have to tell you it was awful. The chicken smelled…uh…weird. I was so sick of it that I made the decission not to buy chicken from the supermarket anymore. Instead we will use whatever meat we have left in the fridge and freezer and the next time we buy chicken it will be organic or fresh from a farm locally. I know, i know, we are not rich so it means we will cut down on our meat in general. I had it!
So no chicken in the sauce but some fresh ground turkey in form of some spicy meatballs. I seasoned the meat with my soutwestern spice, added some panko and a bit of egg and a handful of parsley. Then I baked them in the oven to cut down on oil.

I had to make sure that hubby does not eat all the meatballs in the meantime🙂

Don’t forget: The Vanilla Beans Giveaway is still going on! Just leave a comment as described in my article Parsnip Soup with Vanilla!
Food Matters Project

Diese Woche ist das folgende Blog Gastgeber Fifth Floor Kitchen’s Blog und wenn ihr das Originalrezept sehen wollt, schaut dort vorbei.

Ich konnte es mir natuerlich nicht verkneifen, das Rezept abzuaendern, weil ich nun mal nicht anders kann und ausserdem vergessen hatte, einige der Zutaten zu kaufen. Ich habe meinen restlichen Bok Choi dazugeschnippelt und eine orange Paprika. Dazu gibt es Risotte, weil ich mal wieder Lust darauf hatte. Nachdem Ronny die Weinverlosung gewonnen hatte, standen wir ploetzlich mit 10 Flaschen Wein da. Wir trinken ca. 1 Glas im Jahr…uh.. Ich hatte zwar Huhn gekauft, aber es rocht scheusslich und angeekelt habe ich beschlossen, dass kein Supermarkthuhn mehr in meine Kueche kommt. Wir essen weniger davon, dann aber organic oder vom lokalen Bauernhof. Basta! Statt also Huhn reinzuwerfen habe ich ein wenig frisches Truthahngehacktes gekauft und Buletten geformt. Ein wenig Southwestern Gewuerz dazu, Brotkruemel und Ei und zum Schluss eine handvoll Petersilie. Die habe ich dann im Oven gebacken statt zu braten um Oel einzusparen.

Waffles Food Matters Project

Ehemanntauglich?
Jetzt musste ich nur noch aufpassen, dass meine Gatte sich nicht ueber alle Buletten heimlich hermacht.

Nicht vergessen, mein Vanillestangen Gewinnspiel. Ihr muesst nur einen Kommentar bei meinem Artikel Pastinakensuppe mit Vanille hinterlassen.
Food Matters Project

6 Responses to “The Food Matters Project- Vegetables au Vin with Coq”


  1. 1 Lexi März 26, 2012 um 2:50 pm

    Your meatball meal looks great!

  2. 2 Margarita März 26, 2012 um 2:52 pm

    I love meatballs, especially turkey meatballs! I don’t have a lot of money either and that is one of the reasons why I don’t eat a lot of meat… it is pretty darn expensive, whether it be the supermarket kind and especially the local ones. However, the local ones are worth it.

  3. 3 fifthfloorkitchen März 26, 2012 um 3:11 pm

    This looks delicious! I like the idea of doing meatballs for a different protein.

    And no worries about the chicken- I feel the same. We only buy sustainable meat. I’d rather eat less of it, but know that it’s good for you!

  4. 4 20somethingcupcakes (@sassyinthekitch) März 26, 2012 um 3:24 pm

    Very creative take! I used white wine as well.

  5. 5 Emma März 26, 2012 um 4:03 pm

    i can really relate to your comment „no supermarket chicken“. Because of all the chicken scandals here in germany i`ve really lost my appetite for supermarket chicken. I´m not sure if organic meat tastes better (the eggs do though), but it gives me a better feeling
    Take care… jetzt muss ich aber ins Bett bevor ich noch mehr Hunger bekomme und den Kühlschrank plündere

  6. 6 vanillalemon März 27, 2012 um 4:00 am

    Lovely pictures! And those meatballs look marvelous!


Schreibe einen Kommentar

EMQG

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an

Archive


