Let’s talk about Bread

Chiabread

I am German. I love bread. This goes hand in hand and everybody knows what bread-snobs we Germans can be. We are used to having a huge variety of breads of all colours, flavours and shapes available. It was quite an adjustment when we came to Canada. I only knew the bread from the supermarket. When you are able to squeeze a loaf of bread and form a ball that fits in the palm of you hand, then you know that this is not a good bread. Where is the crust? Where is the flavour? I usually eat bread that is really dark and has lots of seeds in it.

Schwarzbrot

I was so happy when a colleague introduced me to the bakery Cobs. We had the Cheese Pullapart and it is so tasty that you only need a bit of butter and you are good to go. My husband loved it a bit too much and I tried other breads that are a bit more on the healthier side.

Cobs

This is the store that Birdie and I go to when we go for our daily walks. Close your eyes. Go on, do it!  Now imagine the smell of freshly baked bread. Isn’t it a wonderful and comforting smell? It always reminds me of my childhood.

The staff is really nice and friendly. We chat about babies, strollers and what bread to recommend so you feel welcome in the store. They have this neat little box on the counter in which they keep a variety of their baked goods. Sliced up for the customer to try and taste.  Personally I love the way that Cobs supports local charities with their End of Day Program . Basicially, bread that is not sold will be donated. Isn’t that a great way to help your community?

We eat the Chia Wholewheat Bread a lot. Chia is popping up on a lot of websites as a supergrain but I was not able to get my hands on them. Instead we eat the Chia Bread🙂. Cob’s website provides nutritional information for the products they bake and sell.

Chiabread

The loaf usually does not last long and I eat it with some butter in the morning, sometimes with jam. There is no need to toast it because the texture is so nice. There is a little bit of crust and the middle is soft but NOT too soft.

They also have some yummy scones and sweets. Stay tuned for the St. Patrick Day’s Scones and the Hot Cross Buns!

Chiabread

***
I do not get paid by Cobs and this post only represents my own opinions and experiences.
***

2 Responses to “Let’s talk about Bread”


  1. 1 cookkooc März 22, 2012 um 2:09 pm

    How funny is this that we both write about Chia…!

  2. 2 Baltic Maid März 22, 2012 um 7:45 pm

    I am definitely a bread snob… hahaha… I have serious withdrawal problems here in California. Freut mich, dass Du eine gute Baeckerei gefunden hast.🙂


Schreibe einen Kommentar

EMQG

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an

Archive


