Curried Tomato Soup with Eggs – The Food Matters Project

Food Matters Project

This one was a tough one just because my husband hates tomatoes. He eats ketchup and also my spaghetti sauces containing tomatoes. He also would not pick the tomatoes out of a salad but if he prepares one then you know there will not be any tomatoes in there. I am also not a huge fan of hardboiled eggs. I do eat them but they are not my favourite thing to eat.

Food Matters Project

So instead of making a soup I made a sauce to go over my buckwheat noodles and my arugula salad. This is accompanied by an egg that was baked in the oven. To give the sauce an extra punch I added a chipotle chile in ancho sauce and some tumeric for the colour.

Food Matters Project

Hop over to Joanne’s website for this week’s pick and the original recipe.

My version includes

1 shallot
2 cloves of garlic
thumbsized ginger grated
1 chipotle chili in ancho sauce
1 tsp tumeric
1 tsp curry powder
1 tsp ginger masala
1 cup tomatoes crushed
Some buttermilk
1 cup of coconutmilk
Bok Choi
1 Green Pepper

Cooked buckwheat noodles
Arugula Salad
1 Egg

In a bit of oil I fried the spices and then added one ingredient after the other and let it simmer for about 15min. In the meantime I cooked the buckwheat noodles and arranged some arugula salad on a plate.

Food Matters Project 001

Baked Egg
Preheat oven to 180C. Carefully crack one egg in a fill in a ramekin. Some people oil the ramekin I did not since I would eat it straight out of the dish. Season with salt and pepper and pour 1-2 teaspoon of milk over the egg to keep it from drying out. Bake it in the oven for approx. 10-12min. The eggwhite should be firm and the yolk not too hard. I am always extra careful with eggs and prefer my yolk on the firmer side. Enjoy!

Food Matters Project

10 Responses to “Curried Tomato Soup with Eggs – The Food Matters Project”


  1. 1 Emma März 19, 2012 um 12:51 pm

    Ich mag auch keine Tomaten. Mag allerdings auch Tomatensuppe und ähnliches. Tomaten pur und roh…da schüttelts mich😀
    Arugula bzw Rocola ist toll. Scmeckt auch lecker zu Steak mit Pinienkerne kurz in dem Steak-Sud angebraten.
    LG aus good old Germany

  2. 3 Margarita März 19, 2012 um 3:29 pm

    I almost served mine with noodles too, but wavered at the last minute and opted for the safety of rice. I should’ve been more adventurous!

  3. 5 Lexi März 19, 2012 um 6:45 pm

    Ich leibe was Sie gekocht haben.

  4. 9 Joanne März 20, 2012 um 3:49 am

    A husband who doesn’t like tomatoes!?!? I’m not sure what I would do. but I love what you did with this soup! Using it as a sauce for pasta is a great idea!

  5. 10 mindyourbeesandtrees März 20, 2012 um 6:01 am

    What a beautiful picture! I love your rendition of this recipe…it looks fabulous! What a great idea to serve it over noodles and arugula!


Schreibe einen Kommentar

EMQG

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an

Archive


