Food Matters Project- Soy Orange Honey Chicken

Food Matters Project

I started participating in the Food Matters Project and this week’s assignment was Beef with Soy and Orange Sauce and bean sprouts. My husband was so clever and helpful (for that I love you even more) and went to the library to get me the book. It was the best idea ever because Calgary casted a snow storm warning with 10-30cm of snow. Means I would not be able to go to the grocery store to buy the required ingredients.

Tangelos

This weeks host is Dominica so check out her website Wine Food Love for the original recipe. I could not help myself and made changes to it because I already had left overs in my fridge I wanted to use before they expire. Instead of beef I took the roasted chicken I made earlier. Here is what I did:

Roasted chicken- cut in pieces

Juice of 2 tangelos

3 tbsp of dark soy sauce

1 tbsp orange blossom honey

Black sesame seeds roasted

Arugula

Shredded cabbage

Garlic sprouts

Arugula

It is very easy. Put it all in a pan and cook until the sauce reduces to the consistency you like. Dress up a plate with arugula and shredded cabbage, add the chicken and sauce. Top with the roasted seeds and a bit of the garlic sprouts. Enjoy!

Spouse-test

Ohhh, he loved it and suggested we could have it with rice again tonight. Haha. SInce it is so easy to make, we WILL have it for dinner again.

Food Matters Project

Huehnerstueckchen von meinem geroesteten Huhn

Saft von 2 Mandarinen

3 EL dunkle Sojasosse

1 El Orangenbluetenhonig

Schwarze Sesamkoerner

Arugulasalat

Kleingeschnittener Kohl

Sprossen

Food Matters Project

Das Gericht ist so einfach. Alles in einer Pfanne erhitzen und die Sosse solange koecheln lassen bis die Sosse etwas angedickt ist. Das Huhn auf ein Bett von Arugula und Kohl legen und reinhauen🙂

Ehemanntauglich?

Haha, er meinte, man koennte es doch auch mit Reis essen. Zu schade, dass wir bereits alles aufgegessen haben *zwinker zwinker*. Es gibt es also noch einmal heute abend.

Food Matters Project

8 Responses to “Food Matters Project- Soy Orange Honey Chicken”


  1. 1 Margarita März 5, 2012 um 3:45 pm

    I was going to use tangelos too but was not brave enough! Love how you ate this over some arugula. Yum!

    • 2 prairiesummers März 5, 2012 um 4:08 pm

      It was quite by accident because I thought I bought oranges…uhm…🙂 The peppery taste of the arugula goes extremely well with the soy sauce. Glad you liked it.

  2. 3 Emma März 5, 2012 um 4:07 pm

    Mmmh, soy and orange a good combo🙂 I did a similar dish a bit back with scampi and black soba noodles. My kitchen filled with the delish fragrance which remided me of orange chocolate.
    Hope everything goes well with all the snow heading your way. Take care.

    • 4 prairiesummers März 5, 2012 um 4:19 pm

      Thanks, the snow arrived on time😦 ankle deep snow means I am trapped inside for today. Ohh I like soba noodles but never heard of black ones. Interesting.

  3. 5 EverydayMaven März 5, 2012 um 6:48 pm

    Nice – great twist serving it on top of raw greens!

  4. 6 Joanne März 6, 2012 um 5:56 am

    seeing the changes people have made is one of the most fun parts in my opinion! Looks delicious!


  1. 1 Week 5 in Review | the food matters project Trackback zu März 8, 2012 um 7:20 am

Schreibe einen Kommentar

EMQG

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 154 Followern an

Archive


