Baked Risotto with Edamame

So, my food processor is in a box. The box is somewhere is this house. Which means I was unable to make the Edamame cakes that Kathleen and Tom have chosen for this week.

Instead I made baked risotto with Kale, Papaya, Carrots and Edamame. The good thing about that dish is that you can keep any leftover in the fridge for a couple of days AND it is food that Birdie can easily eat too. Life is good!

Baked risotto with Edamame

Risotto

Chicken broth

2 strips of bacon

Onion

Kale, Papaya and Carrots that I had previously frozen in cubes

Edamame

Fry the bacon and the onions until crisp and translucent. Add the risotto and stir before adding the chicken stock. I simply added the cubes of frozen vegetables to the mix, poured it in a oven dish and covered it with foil. Put the dish in the oven at 200C and bake for approx. 30min.

Grate some Parmesan cheese and enjoy!

I know this recipe is a bit vague but to be honest, the liquid depends on what other vegetables to yo add, if it is frozen or fresh and how liquidy you like your risotto.

Birdie and I downed our portion for lunch and it must have been good because Birdie was not throwing food on the floor or anywhere else. For Birdie I just added a little bit of Avocado before serving it.

I think for Halloween I will feed Birdie a whole avocado, not wipe her face and she would be good to go as a scary, rotten zombie haha. She had avocado up her nose, on her eye brows and the lower part of her face. I was laughing so hard I could not keep the camera still. Unfortunate for you because you have no idea what she looked like.

5 Responses to “Baked Risotto with Edamame”


  1. 1 Baltic Maid September 10, 2012 um 5:08 nachmittags

    This looks delicious! I could really go for a bowl of this right now. Too bad, I am missing most of the ingredients… I’ll keep this in mind though, I love papaya. And I just never quite know what to do with kale. This is great. Thanks!

  2. 2 FledglingFoodie September 10, 2012 um 8:07 nachmittags

    Wow, I bet papaya was fantastic here. Love the imagery of the avocado-covered face — I’m sure that happens to the best of us when we get really into a bowl of guacamole!

  3. 3 kathleen @ the lushers September 11, 2012 um 5:42 vormittags

    I never would have thought to add papaya to risotto, but it sounds delicious!

    Hope you find your food processor soon :)

  4. 5 Lan | angry asian September 11, 2012 um 12:42 nachmittags

    i hope you find your food processor soon. it might be a bit more time consuming but mashing the beans with a fork or potato smasher could work? either way, using the edamame with risotto is a great idea!


Kommentar verfassen

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Punk Domestics

Foodepix

my foodepix gallery

KitchenArtistry

My KitchenArtistry Gallery
<a Rezeptebuch<
<a

Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 120 Followern an

Archive


Folgen

Erhalte jeden neuen Beitrag in deinen Posteingang.

Schließe dich 120 Followern an