Baked Blueberry Oatmeal with Coconut Milk

DSC_0907

Breakfast has always been a struggle for me. I cannot eat at 6 or 7am in the morning. I am more a Brunch person which means around 10:30am I could eat whatever you put in front of me.

Well.

We all know that breakfast is important and I do want to be a good role model for Birdie so I do try harder this time. I found this recipe for baked oatmeal and it is delicious. I can portion it anyway I want. I had a short spell of creativity and used a regular cup to cut out the round baked oatmeal since it firms up nicely.

That is about as creative as I can get when it comes to the look of my food. It is made for consumption first and to look good second. Most of the time it is in danger of being consumed immediately by husband or Bird or both.

Baked Blueberry Oatmeal with Coconut Milk

Adapted from Family Fresh Cooking

• 1 1/2 cups large flaked Oats

• 2-3 dried Ginger cut into small pieces

• 1/2 teaspoon Salt

• 1 teaspoon Baking Powder

• 4 cups Almond Milk

• 2 cups Coconut Milk

• 2 cups frozen Blueberries

• 1/4 cup dried cherries cut into small pieces

• 1/4 cup unsweetened Coconut Flakes and 1/4 cup slivered almonds

DSC_0911

Preheat oven to 180C degrees.

Lightly grease a baking dish. Mix all the ingredients together until well blended. Then bake it for about an hour. It will firm up once refrigerated.

As you can see in the pictures.

DSC_0910

I went fancy and made these pretty looking babies……

They also freeze nicely if you went overboard like I did and made way too much before going on a long trip to Germany haha.

What can I say – I am often impulsive when it comes to cooking and baking. I figured I could spend soo much time and sleep instead. I guess, I need to have a discussion with Birdie on the length of her sleep. It is 1,5-2 hours at a time during the night.

Max.

I don’t know what happened to my baby that slept for 4 hours at a time and woke up a happy camper. I seriously don’t.

Enjoy!

DSC_0906

3 Responses to “Baked Blueberry Oatmeal with Coconut Milk”


  1. 1 supersu September 6, 2012 um 6:23 nachmittags

    wow! you are a GENIUS…..i have baked oatmeal all the time…NEVER thought to put it into muffin tins….

    you have changed my LIFE!

    su :)

  2. 3 Erin @ Texanerin Baking September 23, 2012 um 10:59 vormittags

    I’ve never really had oatmeal, so no baked oatmeal either. I’ve seen a lot of recipes for it lately but nobody ever takes a shot of the inside. Boo! :) Is it creamy like oatmeal or does it all bake up? And these are super pretty! Love that you can freeze them too.


Kommentar verfassen

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Punk Domestics

Foodepix

my foodepix gallery

KitchenArtistry

My KitchenArtistry Gallery
<a Rezeptebuch<
<a

Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 121 Followern an

Archiv


Follow

Erhalte jeden neuen Beitrag in deinen Posteingang.

Schließe dich 121 Followern an