Cardamom Oats Blondie

DSC_0891

I have never heard of Blondies before I came to Canada. I know Brownies but Blondies were new to me. Well, it somehow makes sense though. Then I saw this recipe on Evil Shenaningans wesite and knew that I would have to try it.

Oats are so good for you and even as a baby I would eat baby-oatmeal but none of the fancy or less so fancy  other things that were in when I was born ;-). I am just trying to say that I have always loved oats and still try to incorporate it in my baking to make it a little bit healthier.

And it is so good. I made a batch for a friend and she pretty much inhaled it. The secret is to use good quality chocolate chips. The regular store bought Hershey chips are not my favourite. Instead I am using the chocolate chips from the Vanilla Food Company because they are so good that I could eat them straight out of the bag.

Cardamom Oats Blondies

Adapted from Evil Shenaningans

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon cardamom

1 cup loosely packed dark brown sugar

1 cup margarine, at room temperature

2 teaspoons vanilla or cut down on the brown sugar and use vanilla sugar

2 eggs

1/4 cup agave nectar

1 cup rolled oats

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup dark chocolate chips

DSC_0896

Preheat the oven to 180C and line your baking pan with parchment paper, leaving a little bit paper overhanging on either side of the pan. It will be so much either to take the cake out of the pan that way. I did not have to spray the pan at all this way.

In a bowl combine the flour, baking powder, cardamom, and salt. Whisk until well blended.

In a separate bowl combine the brown sugar, margarine, vanilla, eggs, and agave nectar. Whisk until well combined, then pour the wet ingredients over the dry and stir until just combined. Add the oats and chocolate chips and fold to combine. Do not over-mix.

Spread the mixture into the prepared pan and bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until the blondies are golden brown all over and puffed. Cool completely in the pan then, using the overhanging parchment, remove the blondies from the pan.

Mine was sagging a little in the middle but the taste was wonderful. I tried the recipe with more chocolate chips the second time around but discovered that it was too overpowering. So 3/4 cup chocolate chips seem to be the perfect balance.

I bet you could adjust it to the fall and winter season too by adding different spices. Maybe pumpkin spice or cinnamon? I will think about it a little.

Enjoy!

 

DSC_0893

4 Responses to “Cardamom Oats Blondie”


  1. 1 Joanne August 5, 2012 um 6:10 vormittags

    I adore cardamom-infused desserts! These blondies sound great!!

  2. 2 Baltic Maid August 5, 2012 um 11:33 nachmittags

    I have never tried blondies before. They look soo good. And I love cardamom and oats… :-D

  3. 3 Robin Jean Marie August 6, 2012 um 5:21 vormittags

    The cardamon is an interesting twist!

  4. 4 jules August 29, 2012 um 11:29 vormittags

    this sounds delicious. i love cardamom…


Kommentar verfassen

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Punk Domestics

Foodepix

my foodepix gallery

KitchenArtistry

My KitchenArtistry Gallery
<a Rezeptebuch<
<a

Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 120 Followern an

Archive


Folgen

Erhalte jeden neuen Beitrag in deinen Posteingang.

Schließe dich 120 Followern an