Whole Wheat Scones with Gojiberries

DSC_1236

I fell in love with scones and already enjoyed my scones with coconut. This version includes dried gojiberries the new powerfruit.

I was curious, of course. They are actually quite pretty and I wish I had taken a picture before baking the scones. The bright red colour is amazing and the taste is a bit like a mix of cranberry and strawberry.

Scones with Gojibeeries

Adapted from “Eat Well- Sonoma Williams”

2 cups whole wheat flour

1 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup sugar

1 Tbsp baking powder

2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

6 tbsp cold margarine

1/2 cup cold buttermilk

1/4 cup plain yoghurt

1 egg

1/2 cup gojibeeries
1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

DSC_1238

Mix your dry ingredients. Using a pastry mixer or 2 knives cut in your cold butter. Then add the wet ingredients and try not to over-mix it. With floured hands form your scones and place on a baking tray.

Bake at 180C for approx. 20-25min until slightly browned. Enjoy!

I usually bake a big batch and freeze the scones and it works like a charm.

Hubby approved?
He does not stand a chance. I made them for myself. Ya, I am that selfish ;-)

DSC_1235

1 Response to “Whole Wheat Scones with Gojiberries”


  1. 1 Erin @ Texanerin Baking Juli 25, 2012 um 2:01 nachmittags

    Yeah, whole wheat! And some oats to lessen the whole wheaty taste. I’ve never had gojiberries. They’re so expensive and I’m just suspicious. Although I’m sure I’ll try them one day!


Kommentar verfassen

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Punk Domestics

Foodepix

my foodepix gallery

KitchenArtistry

My KitchenArtistry Gallery
<a Rezeptebuch<
<a

Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 120 Followern an

Archive


Folgen

Erhalte jeden neuen Beitrag in deinen Posteingang.

Schließe dich 120 Followern an