Pea and Apple Soup with Lemon Zest- Erbsensuppe mit Apfel und Zitrone

DSC_1149

Hm, how is it possible that May is almost over? I have to hurry to submit my post for the Cookbook of Colours Challenge. On the other hand it means that our vacation time is coming closer and closer. I cannot wait. I know how a lot of people think that being on maternity leave is like being on vacation. Let me tell you on thing: IT IS NOT. I don’t think I ever worked harder in my life and I cannot just leave for a coffee break, a nice shower, doodle around in the kitchen as I please or watch TV all day. Nope those days are over.

Don’t get me wrong. My bonus is a lot bigger. A smile in the morning, a hug or learning a new sound are my new rewards and they make me smile. There is absolutely no regret.

Ok, enough lecturing and ranting. Sorry, guys!

DSC_1145

Pea and Apple Soup with Lemon zest

One bag of Sweet Peas- approx. 250g

3 tart apples

1 lemon juiced and zested

Vegetable or Chicken Broth

Salt and Pepper

Buttermilk

DSC_1146

Cook peas in the broth and season with salt and pepper. Peel and cut your apples in small bits and add them to the peas. Once the apples have soften, let the soup cool down a bit. I find it is easier to blend a lukewarm soup than a piping hot one. Puree the soup to the consistency you prefer. Back in the pot simmer the soup and add the buttermilk. I used buttermilk instead of cream. If you do not have to watch your weight (lucky you), feel free to use cream…lots of it. While you are at it, make some whipped cream and eat it with fruits. Ok, ok I get sidetracked here.

Season the soup again and then add the lemon zest and slowly add your lemon juice. Enjoy!

DSC_1141

Verflixt, wie kann der Mai nur schon fast vorbei sein? Dabei habe ich mir Anfang des Monats überlegt, was ich hellgrünes kochen wollte und nun bin ich fast schon zu spät dran. Da soll mir einer noch daherkommen und sagen der Mutterjob wäre sowas wie verlängerter Urlaub grrr. 24 Stundenjob kommt da der Wahrheit näher. Alles ist vergessen, wenn Mini-Bird mich anlacht oder sie die Arme nach mir ausstreckt. Nur zum Kochen komm ich halt manchmal nicht.

Genug geschwätzt, hier das Rezept:

Erbsensuppe mit Apfel und Zitrone

ca. 250g grüne Erbsen

3 saure Aepfel

1 Zitrone, abgerieben und ausgedrückt

Gemuesebruehe oder Hühnerbrühe

Salz und Pfeffer

Buttermilch

DSC_1140

Erbsen in der Bruehe kochen und mit Salz und Pfeffer würzen. Äpfel schälen und kleinschneiden und zur Suppe geben bis sie weich sind. Suppe etwas abkühlen lassen bevor sie pürriert wird. Suppe geht wieder zurück in den Topf zum Aufwärmen und dazu kommt die Buttermilch, um die gewünschte Konsistenz zu erreichen. Zitronensaft und Zest dazugeben und nochmal mit Salz und Pfeffer abschmecken. Voilà!

Mein Beitrag in Hellgruen:

HighFoodality Blog-Event Cookbook of Colors

3 Responses to “Pea and Apple Soup with Lemon Zest- Erbsensuppe mit Apfel und Zitrone”


  1. 1 Robin Jean Marie Mai 26, 2012 um 5:03 vormittags

    What an intersting combination in that soup! Is it sweet, or does the pea flavor come through?
    Also, you’ve got your priorities straight, my dear, so good for you!


  1. 1 123 hellgrüne Rezepte [Zusammenfassung Mai] | HighFoodality - Rezepte mit Bild Trackback zu Juli 2, 2012 um 1:38 nachmittags

Kommentar verfassen

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Punk Domestics

Foodepix

my foodepix gallery

KitchenArtistry

My KitchenArtistry Gallery
<a Rezeptebuch<
<a

Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 120 Followern an

Archive


Folgen

Erhalte jeden neuen Beitrag in deinen Posteingang.

Schließe dich 120 Followern an