Oatmeal Coconut Cookies

DSC_0692

I love Bake Sales because it gives me an opportunity to bake cookies guilt-free. There is a Vegan Bake Sale this Saturday from 10-3pm near the Chinook Mall. Are you already wondering since when I am a Vegan? I am not. But I like a challenge and the idea to reduce animal products in my baking. My husband is seriously upset because he is afraid I would take away the holy Sunday boiled egg. I am not sure I could give up the temptation of cheese. Other than that there are a lot of ways to reduce animal products and I jumped right in.

DSC_0688

I found this recipe and baked it once the “regular” way and we absolutely loved it. I just had to make sure that the margarine is vegan and replace the egg with a flax egg. For those who are not interested in the vegan version- I kept the original ingredients.

Oatmeal Coconut Cookies

Adapted from Natalie’s Killer Cuisine

1 stick Melted Margarine (Earth Balance for Vegan Version)

2/3 cup Brown Sugar

1 Egg (Flax Egg for Vegan Version; 1 tbsp Ground Flax Seed and 3 tbsp Water)

1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract or 1 tbsp vanilla sugar

1/2 tsp Salt

3/4 cup Flour

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1/2 tsp Ground Saigon Cinnamon

2 cup Large Flaked Oats

1/2 cup Unsweetened Coconut Flakes

DSC_0689

Preheat oven to 180C degrees

Melt your margarine in a large bowl add the brown sugar and stir until very smooth. Grind your flax seed and mix with the water. Let it stand for a couple of minutes before you add it. Stir in vanilla extract or sugar and the salt. In a separate bowl combine the flour, baking soda and cinnamon. Add to the margarine mixture and stir together until combined and lump free. Gently toss in the oats and the coconut and combine. Let dough rest in the fridge for at least one hour.

Form little balls with a spoon or your ice cream scoop.

Bake cookies for 9 – 10 minutes. Resist the urge to put one cookies in your mouth right away. They taste best when cooled down a bit. It was hard…I had to tell you that.

I will also make some spiced cocoa banana breads in mini and will share the recipe with you tomorrow.

DSC_0693

Ich nutz ja jede Gelegenheit schamlos aus, um Backen zu duerfen. Dieses Wochenende gibt es in der Naehe des Chinook Centres ein Vegan Bake Sale und da ich in der Kueche noch keiner Herausforderung aus dem Weg gegangen bin, hab ich mich gemeldet. Es geht zu Gunsten von Tieren und da kann man unmoeglich widerstehen.

Das folgende Rezept habe ich bereits einmal in der “normalen” Version gemacht und es war ein voller Erfolg. Nun habe ich es noch veganisiert, aber fuer alle, denen das schnurz ist, habe ich das Rezept auch noch im Original. Ich fand die Idee ganz gut, zu versuchen alle Tierprodukte aus dem Gebackenem zu nehmen. Ich werde berichten, ob es alles so geklappt hat, wie ich mir das gedacht habe.

DSC_0690

Haferflocken Kekse mit Kokosnuss

In Anlehnung an Natalie’s Killer Cuisine

1 stick geschmolzene Margarine (Earth Balance for Vegan Version)

2/3 cup brauner Zucker

1 Ei (Leinsamen-Ei fuer Vegan Version; 1 EL gemahlene Leinsamen und 3 EL Wasser)

1/2 TL Vanille Extrakt oder 1 TL Vanillezucker

1/2 TL Salz

3/4 cup Mehl

1/2 TL Natron

1/2 TL Gemahlener Saigon Zimt

2 cup Haferflocken

1/2 cup ungesuesste Kokosraspeln

Ofen auf 180C vorheizen.

Margarine schmelzen und mit dem Zucker vermischen. Leinsamen mahlen und mit Wasser mischen. Ein paar Minuten stehen lassen bevor es dazugegeben wird. Vanille und Salz dazugeben. Mehl, Natron und Zimt in einer separaten Schuessel mischen. Langsam zu der Margarine geben. Anschliessend Haferflocken und Kokosnuss unterheben.

Der Teig sollte mindestens eine Stunde im Kuehlschrank ruhen.

Kleine Baelle formen und aufs Backblech legen. Diese werden fuer 9-10min im Ofen gebacken. Ich rate davon ab sich sofort einen Keks in den Rachen zu schieben, denn sie schmecken am besten, wenn sie ein wenig abgekuehlt sind.

Ehemanntauglich?

Der fand sie total klasse und ich wette, ich muss aufpassen wie ein Habicht, wenn ich fuer den Bake Sale backe.

DSC_0691

6 Responses to “Oatmeal Coconut Cookies”


  1. 1 Cathy April 20, 2012 um 11:26 vormittags

    They look great! And vegan too! Look forward to the banana bread tomorrow too. Must find an excuse to do some baking! (Like buying bananas and letting them get too ripe! ;-)

  2. 2 Robin Jean Marie April 20, 2012 um 11:53 vormittags

    Yum! I love that extra touch with the caramel topping!

  3. 3 Baltic Maid April 20, 2012 um 4:01 nachmittags

    Deine Kekse sehen immer so lecker aus!!!
    Ich habe auch kein Problem damit, allgemein weniger Fleisch und andere Tierprodukte zu verwenden. So ganz ohne koennte ich dann aber doch nicht. Da wuerde mir doch etwas fehlen…

  4. 5 Playful and Hungry August 24, 2012 um 12:52 nachmittags

    this looks so yummy with the caramel topping!


Kommentar verfassen

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Punk Domestics

Foodepix

my foodepix gallery

KitchenArtistry

My KitchenArtistry Gallery
<a Rezeptebuch<
<a

Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 120 Followern an

Archive


Folgen

Erhalte jeden neuen Beitrag in deinen Posteingang.

Schließe dich 120 Followern an