Oatmeal and brown butter cookies

cookie

I think I should have a middle name. It should be cookie monster. I cannot remember not liking cookies and baking. To me it was the ultimate comfort. Since early childhood I had a love for oats- at least that is what my family likes to tell me.

cookies

Their favorite story is that when I was a toddler I would crawl about the house with a butter cookie in my hand and some fruit tea in my bottle. I would then happily combine these two and smear it across the patio doors. So what has changed? I try not to touch the patio door right after I baked cookies haha. I still love fruit tea and a good oatmeal cookie. Or two. Or three.

cookies

Brown butter and oatmeal cookies

Adapted from How Sweet it Is

1/2 cup margarine

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup loosely packed brown sugar

1 large egg

2 tablespoons vanilla sugar

1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cups rolled oats

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons Saigon cinnamon

3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips – I used Callebaut

cookies

Heat a small saucepan over medium-low heat and add margarine. Whisking constantly, cook it until bubbly and until small brown bits appear on the bottom of the pan – about 5-6 minutes. Set aside and let cool completely.

In a bowl, combine flour, salt, baking powder, oats and cinnamon, mixing, then set aside. Once margarine has cooled, add to a large bowl. Whisk in sugars, stirring until smooth. Add in egg whisking until smooth once again. Slowly begin to stir in dry ingredients. Fold in chocolate chips and refrigerate dough for 30 minutes. If you are anything like me then you nibble on a couple of the chocolate chips. They are so good!

cookies

Preheat oven to 175C. Form dough into 1 1/2 inch balls. Place about 2 inches apart on a nonstick baking sheet, then bake for 10-12 minutes, or until bottoms and edges are golden. Let cool before serving. Enjoy!

cookies

In den Augen meiner Familie werde ich wohl ewig das kleine Maedchen sein, dass nichts lieber trank als Tee und dazu einen guten Leibnitz Butterkeks knabberte. Ich wusste damals schon, was gut war. Damit nicht genug, angeblich (!!!) habe ich dann mit meinen gatschigen Keks-Tee-Haenden Muster auf die Terrassentuer geschmiert. Ich glaub das ja bis heute nicht. Warum sollte ich den guten Keks verschwenden?

Auf jeden Fall mag ich im stolzen Alter von 30+ immernoch meine Kekse und sehr gerne auch einen Haferkeks.

Haferflockenkekse mit brauner Butter

Adapted from How Sweet it Is

1/2 cup Margarine

1/4 cup Zucker

1/2 cup brauner Zucker

1 Ei

2 EL Vanillezucker

1 1/4 cup Vollkornmehl

3/4 cups Haferflocken

1/4 TL Salz

1/2 TL Backpulver

1 1/2 TL Saigon Zimt

3/4 cup dunkle Sckokoladenchips – ich habe Callebaut genommen. Die sind so gut, dass ich an mich halten muss nicht gleich alle aus der Tuete zu essen.

Oatmeal cookie

Margarine in einem kleinen Topf erhitzen und blubbern lassen bis sich kleine Stueckchen am Boden bilden. Die Margarine komplett abkuehlen lassen.

In einer Schuessel Mehl, Salz, Backpulver, Haferflocken und Zimt mischen. Margarine und die Zucker in einer weiteren Schuessel mixen. Anschliessend das Ei hinzufuegen und nun die trockenen Zutaten langsam untermischen. Zum Schluss kommen die Schokostuecken. Den Teig ca. 30min im Kuehlschrank ruhen lassen.

Backofen auf 175C vorheizen. Aus dem Teig kleine Kugeln formen und ca. 10-12min backen bis der Rand leicht golden wird.

Ehemanntauglich?

Ja, hat er fuer gut befunden. Die Kekse werden allerdings nach 2 Tagen etwas hart haha.

cookies

10 Responses to “Oatmeal and brown butter cookies”


  1. 1 Robin Jean Marie April 19, 2012 um 7:05 vormittags

    Oooooohhh! I wish I could just reach right through my screen and grab one of these! :-)

  2. 3 Baltic Maid April 19, 2012 um 5:17 nachmittags

    Wie lecker…. und mit Vollkornmehl…hmmmm… diese Cookies wird’s wohl auch bei uns bald geben… :-)

  3. 4 achowlife April 19, 2012 um 7:35 nachmittags

    Aren’t cookies so perfect? I absolutely agree with you. These look delicious!

  4. 5 Whitney April 23, 2012 um 11:03 vormittags

    Hello, your cookies look amazing, and I’d like to try them today, but I was wondering about the margarine. I wasn’t sure if margarine browned well, compared to butter, and since the recipe title says “brown butter,” did you use actual butter or margarine? This may be a silly question, but I figured I would make sure before I make them. Thanks!

    • 6 prairiesummers April 23, 2012 um 11:09 vormittags

      It is not a silly question at all. The original called for butter. I just used margarine because I had no butter and was impatient lol. It worked with margarine but if you lve butter and are not on any dietary restrictions I would use butter. Hope you like them.

  5. 7 Whitney April 23, 2012 um 11:14 vormittags

    Thanks for the quick response and for your help! If mine look like yours, I will be fine with using margarine, but I may have to experiment with 2 batches ;) I’ll let you know how they turn out!

  6. 9 Whitney Mai 26, 2012 um 7:44 vormittags

    I’ve been meaning to tell you that I loved these cookies :) It was my first time using brown butter, and it was a success! Thanks for the delicious recipe!


Kommentar verfassen

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Punk Domestics

Foodepix

my foodepix gallery

KitchenArtistry

My KitchenArtistry Gallery
<a Rezeptebuch<
<a

Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 121 Followern an

Archiv


Follow

Erhalte jeden neuen Beitrag in deinen Posteingang.

Schließe dich 121 Followern an