Parsnip Soup with Vanilla and GIVEAWAY CLOSED

parsnip soup with vanilla

You probably think I lost it completely but bear with me. This soup is to die for (please don’t)! Since I had these amazing organic vanilla beans from the Vanilla Food Company I decided to cook and bake several recipes with them. I will post them soon.

I came across the company by accident when I was searching for a place selling good quality vanilla beans. I will continue buying from this company because the beans are the best I ever had. Being so used to the expensive storebought vanilla beans I was pleasantly surprise by the price they offered the beans for. I still had one bean I had bought at the supermarket for 3$+ and although I stored it in a dark place and had not even opened the container, the bean was dry and brittle. The only thing it was useful for was to go in the jar with my homemade vanilla sugar.

The bean from the Vanilla Food Company was juicy and smelled sooo good. I wish you could smell the bean! When I prepared the recipe below, the knife, the countertop I cut it on and my hands were smelling of vanilla. Can it get any better than this? The company offers different varieties of vanilla beans including the organic ones I bought. Hop over to their site and see for yourself! They also sell a wide variety of baking supply that makes me want to order one from each item. So if you are into serious baking then it is the right company for you.

GIVEAWAY
I am so excited because The Vanilla Food Company graciously sent me some of their products to either try myself or to give away and I decided to give away products over the next four weeks – so stay tuned!

This week I am giving away 10 Vanilla Beans – Madagascar Bourbon – GRADE A. All you have to do is leave me a comment what product you would chose from the Vanilla Food Company if you had the choice. You have until April 2, 2012 Noon Calgary time to participate. A winner will be randomly chosen. If you do not have a blog, please ensure to leave your email address so that I can get in touch with you. The Giveaway is open to everybody!

In addition, for a short period of time the Vanilla Food Company offers to waive the shipping cost if you spend over $125 and have a Canadian address to ship it to. The following code is valid as of today until May 6, 2012: PS201204

Why not get together with a couple of friends to order and start a baking party? Unfortunately, my friends here in Canada are all in Tax busy season buh! Easter is coming up and there will be a lot of baking going on in my house.

Here is the first vanilla recipe I made with a vanilla bean from the Vanilla Food Company. Definetly a keeper and very easy to make. I was actually surprise the first time I read this recipe because so far I had only ever baked with vanilla but never cooked. You will love this, I promise.

Vanilla Parsnip Soup

Adapted from Dinner with Julie

2 Tbsp. oil

2 Tbsp. butter

1/2 onion, peeled and diced

1 cup celeriac

1 cup celery

1 garlic clove grated

5 medium parsnips, peeled and chopped

5 cups homemade chicken or vegetable stock

1 vanilla bean

1/2 cup cream

zest of 1 lemon and juice of half a lemon

salt and pepper to taste

parsnip soup with vanilla

Sweat the onion, celeriac, celery and garlic until they’re tender and soft. Add the parsnips and continue to cook. Then add the stock and bring to a simmer. Cut the vanilla bean in half lengthwise and scrape out the black seeds. Add pod and seeds to the simmering soup. Simmer for 30 minutes until vegetables are tender. Remove the vanilla pod and discard, and stir in the cream. Puree the soup and season with a bit of salt and pepper and lemon juice. Enjoy!

parsnip soup with vanilla

* I do not get paid by the Vanilla Food Company and the opion voiced above is my opinion and based on my own experiences*

GIVEAWAY
Diese Woche starte ich die erste Woche der GIVEAWAYS. Die Firma Vanilla Food Company hat mir freundlicherweise einiger ihrer Produkte geschickt, die ich entweder ausprobieren kann oder an meine Leser verlosen kann. Da ich gerne teile, werde ich diese Woche 10 Vanilla Beans – Madagascar Bourbon – GRADE A unter den Lesern verlosen. Alles, was ihr machen muesst, ist ein Kommentar hinterlassen, welches andere Produkt ihr von der Vanilla Food Company kaufen wuerdet, wenn ihr die freie Wahl haettet. Ihr habt von heute bis zum 2. Aprl 2012, 12 Uhr mittags Calgary Ortszeit die Moeglichkeit teilzunehmen. Der Gewinner wird zufaellig ausgewaehlt und benachrichtigt werden. Solltet Ihr keinen Blog haben, dann hinterlasst bitte eine Emailaddresse, damit ich Euch erreichen kann. Die Verlosung ist weltweit offen.

Ausserdem hat sich die Vanilla Food Company bereit erklaert bis zum 6. April keine Lieferkosten zu berechnen, wenn mehr als 125$ ausgegeben werden und eine kanadische Lieferadresse vorliegt! Der Code lautet: PS201204

Nun zu meinem ersten Rezept, das ich mit meinen Vanillestangen gekocht habe.

Pastinakensuppe mit Vanille

In Anlehnung an Dinner with Julie

2 El Oel

2 El Butter

1/2 Zwiebel fein gehackt

1 cup Sellerie

1 cup Staudensellerie

1 Knoblauchzehe

5 medium Pastinaken gewuerfelt

5 cups selbstgemachte Gemuese- oder Huehnerbruehe

1 Vanillestange

1/2 cup Sahne

zest einer 1 Zitrone und Saft einer halben Zitrone

Salz und Pfeffer

Zwiebel, Sellerie, Staudensellerie und Knoblauch in Oel und Butter anschwitzen. Pastinaken dazugeben und weiterkochen. Bruehe hinzufuegen und koecheln lassen. In der Zwischenzeit die Vanillestange aufschneiden und auskratzen. Samen und Vanillestange zur Bruehe geben und solange koecheln bis die Pastinaken durch sind. Vanillestange herausnehmen und die Suppe puerrieren. Sahne und Gewuerze dazugeben und mit etwas Zitronensaft servieren.

Ehemanntauglich?

Der musste schnell sein, weil ich mich kopfueber in die Suppe stuerzen wollte :-)

parsnip soup with vanilla

*Ich werde nicht von der Vanilla Food Company bezahlt und die Meinungen in meinem Artikel sind meine eigenen und basieren auf meinen Erfahrungen*

29 Responses to “Parsnip Soup with Vanilla and GIVEAWAY CLOSED”


  1. 1 Joanne Richards März 25, 2012 um 11:12 vormittags

    I will be buying for the pantry next month, active yeast and milk powder for the bread maker. Also need to stock up on nutmeg, my favorite spice, and would like to try the vanilla bean paste – sounds interestingly yummy!

  2. 2 Erin @ Texanerin Baking März 25, 2012 um 12:00 nachmittags

    How funny. I came over here to say something about your weather in Germany comment and it turns out you’re having an awesome giveaway. :)

    I would choose that big bucket of vanilla paste. I’ve never used vanilla paste before but I go through so much vanilla that getting a large amount just makes sense.

    Anyway, don’t ever be jealous of our weather. I don’t know where you sister is, but in Berlin, we don’t have sun for weeks at a time in the winter. This winter wasn’t that bad, but two winters ago we seriously had a few days of sun all winter. It was terrible. Maybe Calgary is even worse but I can’t imagine a less sunny place.

    And I love how you write stuff in German and English. Your blog is now my sole source of German reading practice. :)

    • 3 prairiesummers März 25, 2012 um 12:09 nachmittags

      Haha glad I can be of help. Ok I will try not to be jealous of the German weather. Instead I could be jealous of all the art stuff going on in Berlin. I lived there for 6 months once as an intern and loved going to all the museums etc. Calgary is actually quite sunny which I love. I just cannot wait for the summer!

  3. 4 ronnyfenrich März 25, 2012 um 2:48 nachmittags

    uhhh, I just found an interesting product over there. These crispy bites with chocolate look very good. I should try them ASAP :-)
    http://www.vanillafoodcompany.ca/Crispearls-Callebaut-p/cal-csp-prl-par.htm

  4. 5 Baltic Maid März 25, 2012 um 5:44 nachmittags

    After the vanilla beans (making my own Vanillezucker has been on my to-do list for ages…) I would probably choose the Madeleine Pan. I love madeleines but I just need to get a pan one of these days…

  5. 6 supersu März 26, 2012 um 5:16 vormittags

    vanilla bean paste would be my product of choice. so many recipe’s call for it, and i can never find it here in edmonton!

    thanks for the contest- fun

    su :)
    love your blog – even if i cant read half of it!!!! i enjoy the pictures

  6. 8 Margarita März 26, 2012 um 2:58 nachmittags

    Wow! I would never have thought of using vanilla beans in any soups! This looks delightful!

    Hmmm… if I had a choice, I would buy either the vanilla beans or the pure ground vanilla beans. Thanks for introducing us to this company… I have never heard of them before, but already looking forward to some possible orders!

  7. 10 Emma März 26, 2012 um 3:44 nachmittags

    Also Jen, wirklich? Vanille in Suppe?…ich weiß nicht. Aber wieso eigentlich nicht!!! Für wie viele Personen würde die Suppe theoretisch reichen? Wenn man es nicht selbst alles weg suppelt ;)
    Bin mal auf deine Folgeberichte/Rezepte gespannt :) Ich experimentier gerade mit “Herzhaft und Süß” Kombinationen. Aber habe leider nicht viel Zeit zum Bloggen :(
    Ich würde wahrscheinlich nichts bei “Vanilla Food Company” einkaufen, einfach weil ich zuviel kaufen würde :D wie Valrhona Cacao-Nibbs, oder die Schoki. Aber aufjedenfall “Cream of Tatar”. Das bekommt man hier nicht so gut und ich weiß auch nicht wirklich womit ich es erstezen kann ;)
    LG

  8. 12 Kirsten März 27, 2012 um 9:03 vormittags

    Die Suppe klingt super-lecker :-) Ich hab vor ein paar Wochen eine Kürbis-Apfel-Suppe mit Vanille gemacht, die war auch sehr, sehr gut!

    LG Kirsten

  9. 14 katjaskitchenclub März 29, 2012 um 12:02 vormittags

    Ich würde mich ersteinmal bei den Backformen austoben, alles solche die es in Germany nicht gibt: Cup Pie set, Lift & serve Single Square Pan, Brownie Pan, danach würde ich zu den Zutaten übergehen Almond Paste, Vanilla Beans…eigentlich würde ich mich durch das komplette Sortiment kaufen :-))))

  10. 15 Lauren März 30, 2012 um 7:09 vormittags

    hi! found your blog through the Vanilla Food Company’s link of Facebook. I also found them by accident when I was looking for a good place to find vanilla beans. I was so impressed with their price and options. I love the Ugandan Fair Trade, Organic beans. I bought a half pound about a month ago and they’re almost all gone! Am in the process of making homemade vanilla with them, and will be enjoying a lovely glass of home made irish cream liquer this evening! The beans are by far the largest, plumpest and freshest I’ve ever encountered and at a fraction of the price of the supermarkets. If i had to choose just one product from the website aside from the beans themselves, I would have to say I want to give the baguette pan a try. I have decided to try my hand at home made gluten free breads lately, and I found a great recipe for a gf baguette, but no pan to make it in. Great blog, lovely pictures.

  11. 17 Michael März 30, 2012 um 11:24 vormittags

    Hm, not sure about parsnips soup, the belong under a leg of lamb – on the other hand, last weekend I threw bananas, peches, chillies and curry with chicken and nuts in pot and hoped for the best ;)

    And damn me for putting myseld on a diet, but those Chocolate – Dark 70% – Cuba “Origine Rare” Barry looks to good to be true…

    Ps, any tipps for easter?

  12. 18 Tobias März 30, 2012 um 12:16 nachmittags

    yummi, der crystallized ginger sieht ja mal lekker aus!!!
    da muss ich auch keine angst haben das mir den hier jemand wegisst ;)

  13. 19 pietra März 30, 2012 um 2:07 nachmittags

    I like the citrus 4 pack!!! Then CHOCOLATE!

  14. 20 Siggi März 30, 2012 um 3:01 nachmittags

    Hi, also Ich fand Vanille ja schon immer sehr lecker, und finde das sie fast überall hinein passt.
    Wenn Ich die was nehmen würde dann nur die Vanilleschoten..

    I Love it

    C u

  15. 21 meikilein März 30, 2012 um 3:18 nachmittags

    Die Zimtstangen sind bestimmt super, damit kann ich meinem Schatz tolles Apfelmuß kochen! :)

  16. 22 Meryl März 30, 2012 um 6:05 nachmittags

    The Madagascar Vanilla Beans and the Vanilla Paste.

  17. 23 Louis März 30, 2012 um 6:05 nachmittags

    The vanilla extract and cocoa powder.

  18. 25 betterthannutella April 1, 2012 um 4:55 nachmittags

    I would definitely want to try the vanilla bean paste or the vanilla extract. I love the taste of vanilla!


  1. 1 The Food Matters Project- Vegetables au Vin with Coq « Prairiesummers Trackback zu März 26, 2012 um 1:35 nachmittags
  2. 2 Buttermilk « Prairiesummers Trackback zu März 27, 2012 um 3:26 nachmittags
  3. 3 Vanilla Waffles « Prairiesummers Trackback zu März 28, 2012 um 9:07 vormittags
  4. 4 Vanilla and Yoghurt Dessert with Bloodorange « Prairiesummers Trackback zu März 29, 2012 um 7:20 nachmittags

Kommentar verfassen

My favourite Cookbooks

Books Bird and I read

Punk Domestics

Foodepix

my foodepix gallery

KitchenArtistry

My KitchenArtistry Gallery
<a Rezeptebuch<
<a

Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 120 Followern an

Archive


Folgen

Erhalte jeden neuen Beitrag in deinen Posteingang.

Schließe dich 120 Followern an